Week 2: Day 1

Hi all,

Today was the first day of week 2 Professional Experience. Monday is always a big day because staff meeting is on in the afternoon, then after that my Mentor and I finalise my planning for the rest of the week.

Due to my Mentor being partly absent in my final week, we negotiated that I will do the bulk of my teaching this week instead as she felt I was ready anyway. I planned and taught the whole day today, Literacy in the morning (handwriting, spelling, poetry and rotations), Maths (number patterns and fraction rotations) in middle session, then Parade was in the last session, so I walked students there and observed them during before returning them to class and handing out homework folders, etc at the end of the day.

Due to the behavioural issues that have been going on both in class and within lunch break, I have sourced The Feelings Song for my Year 1 students to watch when we come in from first break. The clip reminds students of the different feelings that they feel and that it is okay to feel this way, but most importantly to recognise these feelings as only temporary.

Always Learning,

Ellen

 

Leave a Reply

